A Culture of Safeguarding

The Gospel values of love, dignity, and justice, as demonstrated by Jesus, remind us that the safeguarding of children and persons in vulnerable situations is an integral part of the life and ministry of the Church.

The Congregation is committed to enabling positive change and protecting and promoting the fundamental human rights of all persons. The Safeguarding Office is committed to bringing about awareness among mission partners of their call and responsibility to uphold the dignity of all persons in their care. The hope of the Congregation is to collaborate and work together in an integrated way to create an environment that serves the best interests and developmental needs of children and person/s who are in our care.  They are who are vulnerable.

This requires the highest standards of professional care and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC), the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), and the guiding principles of the Congregation through its core values, spirit and charism. All mission partners are required to abide by these human rights standards.

Congregation Safeguarding Committee

  • Adrew Azzopardi 
  • Ugonna  Ezewem
    Deputy Chairperson
  • Steve Rocha
  • Judi Fairholm
  • Aida Diop-Keenan
  • Dr. Waldery Hilgeman
  • Stella Motsi
  • Maria Ines Franck
  • Tina Campbell
  • Sr. Zelna Oostuhuizen

Congregation Safeguarding Team

  • Sandra Neville – Safeguarding Advisor
  • Jane Nwai Nwai Ei – Safeguarding Coordinator
  • Steve Rocha
  • Carolina Madariaga Marmolejo – Safeguarding Training Facilitator
  • Samar Abou Assalu – Safeguarding Training Facilitator
  • Arlene Manoharan – Safeguarding Training Facilitator
  • Bernardino Culombola – Safeguarding Training Facilitator 

EN  /  FR  /  ES

our global presence

Africa and Middle East

Kenya, Congo, South Sudan, Uganda

Madagascar, Mauritius, Reunion

Senegal, Burkina Faso 


Belgium, France, Hungary, Netherlands

Italy, Malta, Portugal, Spain

Latin America

Costa Rica, Guatemala, Panama, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Honduras

Brazil, Paraguay