I Thirst

I Thirst

I Thirst
I Thirst

Each Sunday of Lent, we will reflect on the ‘seven last words’ spoken by Jesus from the Cross in light of our Congregational Position Papers. This week, we recall the fifth words spoken, “I thirst,linking these with our position on Integral Ecology.

Jesus, knowing that all was now finished, said (to fulfill the scripture), “I thirst.” (John 19:28)

Jesus’s words show his true humanity; considering the loss of fluid, it is physically normal to have experienced thirst. His words echo the 2.2 billion people living without access to safe water, and the cry of Mother Earth herself, who is thirsty for water that has dried up because of the devastating effects of climate change contributed to by mass deforestation.

Our position on integral ecology understands that ecological degradation and the thirst and suffering of peoples and life forms across the globe are entwined; they are one phenomenon. The discord we experience within the very air we breathe, the water we drink, and among our communities calls for us to respond in a way consistent with our mission of reconciliation.

As a Congregation, we strive to convert individual and communal behavior from ecological ignorance to environmental responsibility, evaluating how we use energy, technology, water, and resources. Our sisters in the Philippines, for example, installed solar lamp posts at the 2.8-hectare Laudato Si’ Farm and solar roof panels at the Mountain Maid Training and Development Foundation in Baguio, saving on electricity bills and further moving towards renewable consumption.

In preparation for World Water Day on Friday, evaluate and adjust your personal and communal decisions regarding your consumption and use of water and all natural resources to take personal responsibility to respond to the cries of Mother Earth.


EN  /  FR  /  ES

our global presence

Africa and Middle East

Kenya, Congo, South Sudan, Uganda

Madagascar, Mauritius, Reunion

Senegal, Burkina Faso 


Belgium, France, Hungary, Netherlands

Italy, Malta, Portugal, Spain

Latin America

Costa Rica, Guatemala, Panama, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Honduras

Brazil, Paraguay